Trees

image

A few weeks ago a friend on facebook contacted me about painting some trees for her.   She had a color theme picked out, and a general idea about what she wanted the piece as a whole to look like.  For the most part she let me do my thing with the piece.  I don’t know about you, but sometimes it’s hard to really get into something when there’s a limit, or specific parameters put on your creativity.   Maybe it had more to do with the fact that I was still getting back into our daily routine with household and Homeschooling obligations, OR that I really pushed myself with a full week of activities last week,  OR maybe because I was also working on silhouette  for my daughters tumbling class.   It took me longer than I thought it would to finish these trees….
I went in and originally drew them onto the black gessoed and white gessoed boards with a sharpie marker but then ended up painting over that too much and getting crazy looking branches and funny looking trunks, so I had to re-paint the background in the black side pieces, and just play more with the look of trees.   I know they look simple because they’re just outlines of trees really, but it’s tougher than you think to make it look like a twisty tree as a silhouette.   And to make it look like a SHERI tree as well.  This project actually challenged more than I originally thought it would and I’m uber pleased with the outcome.   They look AWESOME together! 

 

The holy grail is to spend less time making the picture than it takes people to look at it. ~ BANKSY

One thought on “Trees

Leave a Reply

